"Sick and Tired" Psalm 6

Psalm 6: 2 Have compassion on me, LORD, for I am weak. Heal me, LORD, for my bones are in agony. 3 I am sick at heart. How long, O LORD, until you restore me? (NLT)

It’s pretty obvious from the context that the psalmist is gravely ill. He is “languishing” (NRSV) and waits anxiously for YHWH to restore him.

Languish and restore – now there are a couple of concepts that are appropriate to my condition.

Kenny Rogers wrote a song a long time ago with the line “I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in”. One of the other lines goes like this…

I pushed my soul in a deep dark hole and then I followed it in…

For years I’ve been languishing in that hole. The rationale for it has been built around apostasy. It’s a valid principle for certain, but I’m trying to determine whether it’s been my “crutch” or my “condition”.

There is so much to deal with – it’s hard to know where to start. I’m not a very patient man when it comes to “fixing” things. I want to get it done and get it done now. I’m not one who has found enjoyment in the process, I want to see the finished product.

Oh – this will be fun! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “"Sick and Tired" Psalm 6

  1. Anonymous

    I remember one time when I was at your house. Things wern’t going to well for me and I just wanted to do what needed to be done to fix everything. You all had a nick-nack that simply said “Be still and know that I am God”. Wow! That isn’t always so easy is it? It’s been a long,slow process of fixing but I guess it’s not worth fixing if the foundation isn’t any good – and what better foundation to start with then knowing God is God!

    Like

  2. Norm

    You are absolutely correct. Sometimes we forget who the “fixer” is! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

