Growth — 1st and 2nd Peter

My mind is flooded with so much “stuff”. There are a dozens of things clamoring for attention. Yet, the one thing that seems dominant is “growth”.

Every time I go to Scripture, I find new building blocks. On every page, there are tender words of encouragement and challenge. The amazing thing is, I surmise that any other time on my journey these words would not have had the same impact as they do today. That does not mean I would not have noted, underlined or written about them. It simply means they may not have hit me with the same force they do today. Which, I believe is a signature of growth.

What I find most intriguing about this whole thing is how my mind processes all of this. I have always been a “critical thinker”. Usually the emphasis has been on “critical” and not on the thinking part. Now I find myself leaning more on the thinking.

For a variety of reasons, my mind is not as sharp as it once was. I miss that. Nevertheless, the desire and hunger is stronger than I believe it has ever been and I am enjoying that!

Peter says, “Grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.” (2Peter 3:18a)

There may be many things I need but my priority must be growing in the “grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ”. Nothing else matters. I can have an understanding of theology that equals that of Karl Barth, but without a deep and abiding knowledge of Jesus what good would that do? I can speak fluent Greek and parse every verb, but what value is that? I may learn to read the Torah, but to what end? All of these may have value, but only in relationship to my growing in the grace and knowledge of my Lord and Savior.

My loving Heavenly Father, you loved me so much that you sent your only son as a ransom for my sin. May I honor that sacrifice by growing faithfully in the understanding of that grace and the knowledge of who He is as both Lord and Savior. May it be.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1st and 2nd Peter, Growth

Leave a Reply

