Mirror, Mirror….

I can’t believe it. Then again, I reckon I can, it’s part of who I am. Already I’ve allowed the head part of me to get in front of the heart part of me. I suppose there is a reason for that. Looking inward is never enjoyable.

Like a lot of people, things in my body and mind don’t always work right. Consequently, I take a series of medications. I have for years. Once I started the regimen it wasn’t too far down the road when “I” decided that I was doing good and could go off the meds and things would be fine. So, of course I did. It wasn’t long before my body began to tell me, without reservation, I had made a huge mistake! Of course, I had to go back to the doctor, confess my stupidity and start weaning myself back on the medications.

For me, looking inward is somewhat similar. I can do it for a while, then I think I’ve done enough and everything is back to a certain level of normalcy where I can “move on” to other things, like theologizing or sermonizing. Oh my…how silly can one man be!?

It’s true, because my passion is in the scripture and I love getting into it and tossing ideas around and thrashing about with others on “difficult” concepts, I get sidetracked. That’s part of who I am. And in some sense, that is what helps me to grow. But, it just doesn’t need to always be part of this journal.

So if you follow this journey, I apologize when I theologize. I’ll open the heart up more.

Let you steadfast love, O LORD, be upon us, even as we hope in you. (Psalm 33:22)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

