Stumbling Along — Psalm 37

“..Though we stumble, we shall not fall headlong, for the LORD holds us by the hand” (v. 24)

I did that yesterday. Stumbled that is. I’m not very proud of it, but it is what it is. The thing about that stumbling is I could see it coming. It was like looking at two pieces of a jigsaw puzzle, you know they won’t fit together, but you try them anyway. It was like that. I knew I shouldn’t take that next step, but I did anyway.

No, I didn’t get hurt, but thanks for asking. No, no one else got hurt, but thanks for asking. My heart took a hit though and my pride. When the Lord and I talked about it, it was embarrassing trying to justify it. How paltry those excuses were.

In days gone by, I would have been devastated, even crippled by this little incident. I would have beaten myself into a corner and said, “How could any one…..?” However, I didn’t do that this time. I’m not sure, but I think that’s a good thing. Not a sign of insensitivity, but a sign of growth, the ability to see, confess, repent, and move on. At least I like to think it represents growth.

HE squeezed my hand, hugged me and said, “I love you”, so I reckon that’s a good thing. Don’t you?

3 Comments

Filed under Psalm 37, Stumble

3 responses to “Stumbling Along — Psalm 37

  1. Anonymous

    I can really relate to this one! Not so much in the dialog with the Master but in the act itself.
    Dick

    Like

  2. Anonymous

    These entries are insightful, not to mention encouraging, challenging and sometimes convicting…who needs Oswald Chambers?
    Jon

    Like

  3. Norm

    Thanks so much for your encouragement Dick and Jon. I am thankful that God said “Norm needs these guys!”

    Dick, what are you doing up so late or so early? Not sure which!

    Like

Leave a Reply

