Forsaken — Psalm 38

“Do not forsake me, O LORD; O my God, do not be far from me…” (v.21)

For whatever reason, my mind cannot totally comprehend what it might mean to be forsaken by God. From a pure academic standpoint, I get it. But overall, I just cannot wrap my arms around it. Yet, I fear it. Or, should I say have known the fear of it. That fear is a good part of why I am here right now. Don’t get me wrong, that does not mean I am, as they say down south, “skeerd”. I am not scared. I do, however, have a healthy fear of the LORD.

Without going in to copious detail, I believe there is validity to the concept of apostasy. Having said that, for many years my absence from delight in the Lord was not because I didn’t believe I was a believer, but because I believed my role as a believer had been compromised. Anyway, that’s a whole other subject.

My point is, through the years, what I began to fear was being forsaken by God. I know that’s a terrible thought – you who are faithful pilgrims relish in the “I will never leave you nor forsake you” promises, while folks like me, and I suspect there are many, wrestle with “Do you also wish to go away?”

Maybe, just maybe….those who went away that day pondered their decision and thought, “This cannot be good. I will go back.”. Similarly, the nine lepers who did not return to give thanks, may have decided one day, “How stupid is this – here I am clean and whole, and I never said ‘Thank You’. I’m going to go find that man and tell him thanks”. I don’t know. One day perhaps I’ll find out.

Anyway, regardless of whether or not I fully understand it, I could not fathom the idea of being forsaken by God. The idea of Hell was the least of my worries. Being separated from my LORD, whatever that meant, was just not going to be an issue any longer, if I had any hand in it. Setting things right was an absolute necessity.

There are times when I desire “easy”. Where my mind and heart does not have to grapple with this kind of stuff – I will sort it all out one day, after all…

Jesus love me, this I know
For the Bible tells me so

Little ones to Him belong
They are weak, but He is strong

Yes, Jesus loves me
Yes, Jesus loves me

Yes, Jesus loves me,
The Bible tells me so.

Leave a comment

Filed under forsaken, Psalm 38

Leave a Reply

