Oops, I didn’t Expect That

I struggle every day to make sense of things. It seems that the more I know, the more I know I don’t know. That which I thought should be normal really isn’t normal at all. What I hoped would be a good day turns out to be a disaster. Go figure, life is just full of “oops, I didn’t expect that!”

There seems to be more and more instances when I have that same experience while reading Scripture this time around. “Oops, I didn’t’ expect that!” tends to be a phrase I utter to myself on several occasions. That’s not to say it’s a disappointing utterance, rather the contrary in most instances, it’s rather exciting. Scripture reading should be fresh and somewhat of a revelation each time we come to it.

That is the reason experiences like I mentioned the other day and those that I encounter almost every day in my own reading tend to motivate me and inspire me. I have always been a staunch proponent of Biblical inerrancy. Not so much in terms of inspiration of Scripture, as much as the interpretation of Scripture.

I must confess there have been times when I have wanted to jump up out of the pew in the middle of a sermon and say, “Hold it – I’m not sure where you got that particular idea, but it’s not in my Bible!” But then God has not appointed me His special watchdog.

My only responsibility is to be true to His word on my own account. That is challenge enough.

Father, I have no idea what today will bring. I do know there are already several pieces of clutter in my mind. Life has begun and I’m yet a couple steps behind on the day and I didn’t expect that. So help me to gather myself, refocus, and get done what needs to be done. When my project time comes and I am back in Your Word, let my focus be single minded and intense. In Jesus Name, may it be.

Leave a comment

Filed under scripture

Leave a Reply

