Temptation

Sometimes you just have to sit there. As much as you would like to go after it, you know if you do you’ll pay the consequences.

This morning, our pup was outside and had been quiet a bit longer than I thought he should have. Of course, that’s never a good sign. It usually means he is in to something he shouldn’t be. So I went to check on him.

There he is sitting in the middle of the driveway, motionless, just looking at a bird that is sitting motionless, on the side of the yard not more than fifteen feet from him.  Now you must understand, that Eli (our dog) loves to chase birds! In fact, he loves to chase just about anything that’s in “his” yard. But there they are, just watching each other.

It’s like this bird knows that where he is sitting is right on the line where the “invisible fence” is and if Eli comes near him, he’ll get a little shot in the shorts! So basically, he’s safe as long as Eli doesn’t want to pay the consequences of yielding to temptation.

There’s Eli, thinking, “Boy would I love to chase that bird, but if I do, I’m going to get a shot in the shorts and I don’t care for that much, so I better just sit tight.”

Each seemingly knows the other’s limitations. Yet, the bird can go where ever it wants, Eli cannot. He would like to, but it’s not in his best interest or safety.

There are many temptations in this life that look very appealing. They are just sitting on the border of my life staring at me. Almost taunting me. Every one carries with it a choice and a consequence and every day it seems I must choose.

One day, I will be able to take the collar off my dog and he’d never attempt to cross the barrier because he has learned that it’s not appropriate to do so and he chooses to stay inside the boundaries, willingly.

One day, I too may be able to face many temptations and not give them a second thought. How? By learning to be a good disciple, a strong follower of Christ so that my first nature is Christ likeness.  That will be a good day indeed!

“Sanctify them in the truth, your word is truth.” (John 17:17)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

