My Own Worst Enemy

Technorati Tags: , ,

There is a book on my library shelf by that title. It basically talks about how we can sabotage ourselves by our own actions and words. Whether it is in personal or professional relationships, the things we do and say are often the critical factors to success, not the actions and words of others.

In the book of Micah, I am going to take a verse and make a similar application.

Alas for those who devise wickedness and evil deeds on their beds! When morning dawns, they perform it, because it is in their power. (2:1)

In its context, Micah is condemning the rich and powerful for oppressing the people. They even lie awake at night thinking of ways to push them down. When morning comes they put those “deeds” into practice simply because it is in their power to do so.

Here is the application, from my own experience. My mind is exposed to sin and evil every day in a variety of ways -often subtle  ways.  If I choose to open the door and let “it” in, then I begin the rationalization process. Not so much that I lie awake at night. Rather there is this process of mulling, hashing, pondering, coming to the conclusion that – it is not that bad.

Once I have come to that conclusion, then – “when morning dawns” I make the decision to act. It is a conscious choice. Not an accident or a misstep – it is a wilful choice. Not a habit, or a way of living, but a choice I made that particular moment in time.  Do I like it, no. Am I pleased with myself, absolutely not. Should I pretend it did not happen. I can, but it just exacerbates the situation.

The only option is to confess and repent. And then claim these verses in Micah:

Do not rejoice over me, O my enemy; when I fall, I shall rise; when I sit in darkness, the LORD will be a light to me.

I must bear the indignation of the LORD, because I have sinned against him, until he takes my side and executes judgement for me. He will bring me out to the light. I shall see his vindication. (7:8-9)

I truly desire to live temptation free and sinless. That is not going to happen today. But I can choose to put myself in positions where I am tempted less and sin-less; cultivate stronger discipline and self-control.

Father Spirit, I am what I am, a sinner saved by grace.  May I be what I can be through the Cross of Christ, a child of the King.

Leave a comment

Filed under Choice, Micah, Sin

Leave a Reply

