Why Think?

Why think indeed!

The lead in to an ad for a Doctor of Ministry program from Talbot Seminary in California has that question “WHY THINK?” Of course it continues by answering the question. “Because you know how powerful thoughts are…that a single idea can redraw the map of the world.”

Give me a break! If we are at a point in the world of Christendom where we have to remind our pastors why they should be thinking then God help us. Shouldn’t they have been thinking all along? And thinking about ideas other than just biblical ideas?

I’m a thinker. Some would consider me a stinker-thinker because I tend to think outside the box and challenge things, often it may appear needlessly, or at times, with malice. But isn’t that what thinking is all about? Stirring up ideas. Prompting dialog.  Digging deeper, peeling away layers and getting to the truth of the matter. Or does it not matter?

Maybe that is why we need to remind folks to think. They’ve been fed their ideas for so long that they don’t know how to think for themselves any more.

I remember not that long ago, when I did my graduate work we had good discussions, spirited discussions. This was in a class of twenty to thirty students. Yet we never seemed to get behind. Now, I sit in a class of eight and we get power point presentation after power point presentation for three hours with perhaps a combined 10 minutes of discussion. What’s up with that? I don’t need to think to do that. Shoot fire, email me the power point slides and the pictures of the other students, I’ll just pretend I’m being educated.

Why think? Because God calls us to think! We don’t check our minds at the door of faith when we open it. If any thing, we kick it up a notch. As Paul said, “…Be transformed by the renewing of you MIND, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good an acceptable and perfect.” (Romans 12:2 ESV)

Maybe I should think about this before posting it — nah!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Education, Thought

Leave a Reply

