The God of the Old Testament

For most of my Christian life the Old Testament has been my favorite portion of the Bible. I am not certain whether it is because it is the section most neglected by others, or because early on in my education I became fascinated with the Hebrew language and it was a logical connection. I don’t recall much of my Hebrew anymore but I cling to my interest in the OT.

Currently I am reading through the Bible again and I am in the “Law” section, in the book of Deuteronomy. At the same time I am working on an article regarding the immutability of God. It has been my contention for some time that God does indeed change His mind. That does not necessarily mean His character changes, it simply means He makes a new decision regarding some one or some thing. A majority of people really get uncomfortable with that.

This is not the venue for the detail of the article, or for a discussion of the issue necessarily, although I welcome your comments. Suffice it to say, there is one particular issue which presents a rather strong case in favor of flexibility in God’s immutability.

The issue is moral development. If mankind’s moral conscience changes so that things that were right during biblical times are now deemed reprehensible by today’s moral standards and Christian principles,  who or what changed?  *******

Getting back to the OT. It really is a wonderful ‘book”. So rich in language and word pictures. Alive with God’s interaction with His people in ways we do not see in the NT. There are times when I regret that people often make the Old Testament merely a springboard to the New, although I understand the thinking. Nevertheless, it is so much more.

God bless the reading of His word and the thought we give to what we read.

Leave a comment

Filed under Immutability of God, Old Testament

Leave a Reply

