Not a Good Fit

Does it strike you as odd that brown paper sandwich bags are actually not wide enough to accommodate a normal size sandwich to lay flat in the bag without scrunching it? Either that or the usual size loaf of bread is made too large. Wouldn’t you think these guys could get together and either make the bag larger or the loaf smaller?

There are several things that do not fit properly in my life right now. I am not sure whether that means my understanding of God  needs to be larger or my faith and expectations smaller.

Granted, faith is not some substance that can be measured or quantified. Nor should it be. However, there are times when I wonder, “If my faith were bigger, things would work out differently.” After all, Jesus said, “If your faith is the size of a mustard seed…” That is not necessarily quantifiable, but it does put certain perceptions in my mind. It does cause one to think perhaps their faith is not “big” enough – not even mustard seed size.

When Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego were about to be thrown in the proverbial fiery furnace, their comment to Nebuchadnezzer was basically this – If our God chooses to deliver us fine, if not, that will not diminish our faith. (Daniel 3:16-18) This seems to indicate their faith was not in faith, rather in God. And they were prepared for either outcome. However, we do not see them asking God for deliverance.

Often times I ask for “deliverance” and then just to cover my bases, I add – “Nevertheless, let your will be done.” It’s kind of a catch all. Just in case my faith is not big enough, or misappropriated I am covered. Rather juvenile I know, but not uncommon among Christians.

I must confess, I am not quite certain how to manage all of this, whether to enlarge my bag or make my loaf smaller. Do I expand my understanding of God or shrink the faith aspect? Do I continue to seek “deliverance” in situations or enlarge my ability to be content in whatever circumstances I find myself in? (Phil. 4:11) I suspect the latter.

If you’ll excuse me, I have a lunch to pack!

Leave a comment

Filed under Discipleship, Faith

Leave a Reply

