Let it be said with JOY!!!

I cannot begin to express how relieved I am that we have now found a church home! It has been almost a year since we moved to NC and our search is finally over.

The truth of the matter is, the first time I sat down in the church I had a strong sense that this is where we belonged. Of course, it is hard to explain those things and some might say, “We wanted it so bad that the feeling was forced.” I suppose you could conclude that, but I do not. It was definite to me and to my wife that this is where we needed to be in order to grow in our relationship to Christ and to serve him.

Lee Park Baptist Church in Monroe, NC is fairly unique I think. As of right now all of the staff is NOT full time. The senior pastor is Chris Justice, he is an evening news anchor for WCNC news. The music director, “Pastor Jack”, has his own evangelistic ministry and is free to go whenever he has an invitation to carry out his ministry. The adult ministries director, lives in a different town, and the youth minister is not only part time, but serving on an interim basis.

Now that is one part of the story, the other part of the story is this church has grown from about fifty two years ago, to over five hundred in worship “today.” The reason…..they have a commitment to “preach the Word and love people.” And may I say they are not pretentious about it or inhibited.

Where the joy comes is knowing we are where we need to be. That is one thing. The other thing is we sense a strong opportunity to grow. Already I have recognized a work going on inside me. One I welcome with joy. One other element that excites me, is Pastor Chris indeed preaches the Bible. Not a massaged version, not a watered down version, but the true Word of God. What a refreshing experience that is.

Well, I reckon we can relax in one area of our lives and ratchet it up in another. I am ready to get-r-done.

Thank you Father!

Leave a comment

Filed under Church

Leave a Reply

