"He lifted up his eyes and said…"

Jesus prayed for me. Not only did he pray for me, through him I have complete access to God the Father. Not a casual access mind you, rather a divine access so intimate and so marvelous that it is most often beyond understanding.

Knowing Jesus is knowing God. It is in that knowing that God sets me apart as his child. That knowing comes through God’s truth – His word is that truth (John 17:17).

I must confess that many times I read God’s word that I might know more – when in actuality, I seem to know Him less.  My focus is not on knowing Him more, rather that I might simply have more knowledge. How embarrassing and shameful that admission is.

Jesus prayed for me. Not that I might simply know more, but that I might know him and God who sent him, that I might have life.  He prayed, “…This is eternal life, that they may know you the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent (John 17:3).

The essence of that “eternal life” is not just a one time knowing. The focus of that knowing is more than mental ascent. It is being sanctified in truth (17:19). Set apart for God’s holy service, just as Jesus was set apart for God’s divine purpose.

Jesus prayed for me. That the love God had for him would be made known to me. That just as God was in Christ, Christ would be in me (17:26). I cannot even begin to explain that, understand that, or even feel worthy of that. Yet, Jesus prayed for me, that it would be so.

“He lifted up his eyes and said…” the most wonderful words that I could ever hear; “The glory that you have given me I have given to them, that they may be one even as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that you sent me and love them even as you love me (17:22-23).”

Thank you Father.

Leave a comment

Filed under Discipleship, Gospel of John, Sanctification

Leave a Reply

