Oops, Now what?

My mother is fond of the saying, “You made your bed now lie in it.” The phrase, not original with her, is used often to explain to people a similar biblical phrase, “you reap what you sow.” Neither of which are what I would consider good news!

The phrase “you made your bed, now lie in it” apparently comes from a tradition in the days when people made their own mattresses. This project was done yearly and if you made it incorrectly, you experienced the consequences. For example if you stuffed the mattress with grasses, they might last for a while, but then they would break down and be of no use. On the other hand, if you stuffed the mattress with down or feathers, you would experience a level of comfort for the duration of that particular mattress.

The proverbial saying came to mean – the circumstances you find yourself in are of your own doing so live with it.

That is a good reflection of how I view my life right about now. The situation I am in, spiritually, is of my own doing. Even though I am trying desperately to find my way to the surface, I am drowning in my own consequences – eating the fruit of my ways (Proverbs 1:31).

I often wonder if God is having a good laugh over it all. If He is relishing in my misery and its certain level of calamity (Proverbs 1:26). Am I calling out to a deaf ear(Proverbs 1:28)?

God’s ways are not my ways. So perhaps, having made my bed years ago, I am now stuck lying in it? Oops, now what?

Is there a whisper of hope that as the writer of Proverbs says, “Whoever listens…will dwell secure and will be at ease, without dread of disaster (Proverbs 1:33)?”

Leave a comment

Filed under Proverbs

Leave a Reply

