"It’s For Your Own Good"

How many times have you heard or perhaps said those words? They are similar, by intention, with words like, “It is going to hurt me more than it hurts you.” Or, “Believe me, you may not understand this now, but you will thank me later.”

These are “justifying” remarks. They explain to whoever is the focus of our action, that what they will experience is for their building up and not for their destruction. The action we are about to take is not about us, it is about them.

Hard to swallow this concept at times, isn’t it?

The apostle Paul in his second letter to the Corinthians says something similar. “Have you been thinking all along that we have been defending ourselves before you? We are speaking in Christ, before God. Everything we do, beloved, is for the sake of building you up (12:19).”

Paul has no need to exculpate himself before his readers. There is no need to try and justify his words or his actions. Everything he has said and done has been in the open before everyone, including God. What he has said and what he has done, or will do, is based on the strengthening of the disciples in the Corinthian church.  Something that perhaps has been undermined by the so called “super apostles” that have infiltrated the body and attempted to distort both Paul’s credibility and his teaching.

Paul’s fear — when he comes he will find continued pettiness among them and a blatant lack of repentance (vs. 20-21).

In my journey, God is using multiple people in a variety of ways to direct my steps. I do not always like what I hear or read. At times it takes days, weeks, or months to sink in and take hold; to realize their actions have been directed toward my good, not my destruction.  Nevertheless, I am learning. And I suspect that is what discipleship is all about.

As Paul said later in his letter, “Your restoration is what we pray for (13:9).”

Father God, thank you for those in my life you have lead to give encouragement and instruction, words of correction and words for building up. May I always find the strength and courage to receive their guidance to your glory.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2Corinthians, Discipleship, Discipline

Leave a comment