The Power of Scripture

Well, I did it!  I finished the book RIVEN last night. I had been saving those last few pages because I wanted to be able to read them all in one sitting.  It was worth it.

Now I’ll confess, this is the first time in my life that I have read a novel that was almost 600 pages. The book, Left Behind was close to five hundred, but other than that I slog through novels and seldom reach the end. 

I’ll admit, there were times when I was saying to the author, “C’mon already, let’s get moving.” However, that is simply a reflection of my character and not Jerry’s writing. I am a “get to the point” kind of person.

Some of what moved me about this novel was its use of scripture. I found myself fascinated with how many times I read quotes from the Bible that contained more than just the standard “verse” we often hear. There were full paragraphs and each had their own setting that brought the power of scripture to light. I’ll say it again, that moved me, often to tears.

When was the last time you heard someone quote a portion of scripture and sound like they “owned it?” Not just quoting it correctly but that it issued from the heart and not simply the brain.

I struggle to memorize scripture these days. It use to come easy, now not so much anymore. However, as I was reading today, I began to see some of the passages cited in the novel and looked at them as they stood in context, and I thought, “I want to know that. I want to make that a part of who I am, etch it on my heart.” That  made me think immediately of Psalm 119:11, “I have stored your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.”  But wait, look at the whole passage:

How can a young man keep his way pure? By guarding it according to your word.

With my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments! I have stored your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

Blessed are you O LORD; teach me your statutes! With my lips I declare all the rules of your mouth. In the way of your testimonies I delight as much as in all riches.

I will meditate on your precepts and fix my eyes on your ways. I will delight in your statutes; I will not forget your word.   

That, my friends, is the power of Scripture!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Power of Scripture

  1. nmacdonald

    JUST ONE NOTE>>>>>> The book is due out 7/22

    Like

Leave a Reply

