Be Anxious for Nothing

Anxiety is a strange bedfellow. It is the type of emotion that can paralyze the soul and the mind, often for no reason.

In Paul’s letter to the Philippians, he writes these words:

Phil. 4:5-7  Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Peace issues from a release of anxiety. We cannot have peace in the midst of anxiety. That would be a paradox.

This morning, when I dropped my car off at the dealership for repairs, I noticed my wedding ring was missing. I ALWAYS wear my wedding ring. I can think of only one or two occasions in the past where I have taken it off. So my first thought was I had lost it. Somehow, it had come off and it was gone. I went in to an immediate panic. After 25 years, I had somehow lost it.

While waiting for my friend to pick me up for a ride home, I was sitting outside looking at my now empty finger. Then it hit me. That ring was merely a symbol. It had no lasting value except as a symbol of the bond between my wife and I. She would understand and it could be replaced. I breathed a prayer and released the whole situation to God.

When my friend picked me up, I expressed to him my anxiety over the situation. But my words seemed empty and untrue. In reality my heart did not feel anxious anymore. I had a peace. My response to him was automatic – a shadow from the past. I realized I was not anxious. I tried to work up some anxiousness, but it was short on coming.

After a quick look around the house, there was my ring. Sitting on my dresser. I am not sure why, but it was there.

It is so unlike me to let go of apprehension and distress. Many times I feed off it. Yet, this time I was free to let it go. It felt great.

Father thank you for the opportunity to learn more about myself. To discover the joy of your peace – peace that passes all understanding. When bigger things come, may I remember this moment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Anxiety, Book of Philippians, Peace

Leave a Reply

