The Vow

To the Lord I vow

My only recourse now

The enemy knows

He works to bring me low

 

Making a vow seems easier

Easier somehow than self restraint

To violate the vow is not an option

To work around it, that’s something else

 

Common sense

Rational behavior

Uncommon thinking

Irrational thoughts

 

Behavior is a choice

The way of the will

Poor behavior brings remorse

The way of the conscience

 

Choosing joy means

Choosing new thoughts

Living joy means

Living new actions

 

Can I sustain it

Not alone

Can I refrain from it

In Him alone

 

To the Lord I vow

My only recourse now

The enemy knows

He works to bring me low

 

Hang on my fellow pilgrim.

Leave a comment

Filed under Discipleship, Vow

Leave a Reply

