Scan Is Complete

When I replaced my old laptop, it took several days for me to get the new one set up.

One of the programs that came pre-installed with the new laptop was a trial version of Norton 360 Security Suite, a program that monitors for viruses, blocks spam mail and looks for spyware intrusions. I have had these programs before and often had my work interrupted while it did its work. I like this one because it does all its work in the background. It basically runs unnoticed until a pop-up messages tells me that the “scan is complete.”

The program runs on a regular basis and the intent is to keep  my computer safe from intruders, whether the malicious kind or merely the annoying kind. When it finds anything, it gives me options to keep what it finds, quarantine, or delete them.

When the message “scan is complete” popped up this morning, I thought, “The Holy Spirit scans my life regularly and lists those things that are harmful to my soul. Areas that still need a good deal of work and attention – harmful things that I could place in quarantine, or simply delete before they cause harm.”  But am I paying attention?

Yes, I am convicted, from time to time, of areas that are not pleasing to the Lord. Nevertheless, I suspect there are many more areas that lay hidden in the background, running silently, like a malicious virus, waiting to destroy or distort the longings of my heart. For all intents and purposes I am unaware of their presence and seldom feel their impact until it is too late.

Each day, it is important that I open my heart to the Holy Spirit and ask the LORD to scan every part of my being. As the Psalmist said,

Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting!  (Psalm 139:23-24)

Then, once God shows me where the problems are, it is imperative that I take care of them. Not doing so could cause serious problems down the road and impact my testimony for Christ.

Leave a comment

Filed under Computer Scan, Discipleship, Psalms 139

Leave a Reply

