Jealous God

Vacations are just that, vacations. For most of us, it’s a chance to put aside the normal routines of work to gain a sense of refreshment and restoration. But what about God? What do we do with Him on vacations? Do we set aside our daily readings, devotional time and church in order to truly have a vacation?

This past week, while on vacation, my daily routine was on hiatus, I found my time with God much different than normal. Since I did not take my Bible, my readings were on the computer. Since I chose not to do daily blogging, my thought process for what I read was different – not different in a bad way, just different. And of course, without Internet connection – neither my sister nor my mom have computers – my access to my blog and other things was limited to finding WI-FI locations, which I did not seek out with much diligence.

So how does God feel about my time of not being regular?

The concept of God being a jealous God – “For the LORD your God is a consuming fire, a jealous God (Deut. 4:24.) – is basically isolated to the Old Testament. And quite frankly, it’s hard serving, or being devoted to, a jealous God.

There are so many things, besides vacation, that can interrupt or draw attention away from God.  Does that mean I can expect consequences for my diversion from the ordinary? I am always a bit nervouse about vacation time because I do not want God to feel like He is taking second place to my leisure. Nevertheless, the daily routines are not the same, the characteristics that mark my personal perception of devotion are interrupted and I feel perhaps that God may be offended by it all. That I will pay for my break from the ordinary.  Or is it my devotion to the ordinary that has become my “god?” Has the routine brought its own form of idolatry to my life and prevented me from truly seeking God and being in His presence?

If that’s the case, the vacation itself has provided a sense of true devotion because it stems from a want-to and not a have-to. Perhaps, just perhaps, that is the key to our devotion and love for God. It is not a matter of having to, it is a matter of wanting to.

Father, help my “want to” far exceed my “have to” when it comes to my devotion to You.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotion, Discipleship

Leave a Reply

