Excitement and Execution

Watching Sarah Palin last night during the Republican Convention was a tremendous experience. Many times during her speech I found myself welling up and thinking, “What an amazing person!” It wasn’t so much her words, or even how she delivered them – although she was remarkable in that regard – it was her posture, her obvious command of the situation. This is a truly a woman who has charisma and moxie. Even as the cameras panned the audience, it was obvious that she was in command and they were totally committed to her presence. I will admit, it was exciting. As I awaited sleep, I kept thinking about that experience. The excitement it generated and what may lie ahead for her and John McCain.

It is true, excitement does not always equal correct execution. She may be, as they say, a “one trick pony.” There are many times when people generate excitement and then, in their own excitement, fail to execute things properly. I can think of Saul in the Old Testament and Peter in the New Testament. Both failed, at times, to execute their roles properly due to excitement – or over excitement.

Personally, I tend to get excited about something and then say the wrong thing or over-power others with my own emotional eruption.Conversely, I can get emotionally involved and then do little about it. Emotion can be both energizing and debilitating. It can move me forward or simply keep me in the moment. I can have that “mountain top experience” and then find myself never wanting to come down and get to work. It can move me to greater challenge or stymy me when I make poor decisions blinded by its presence.

Usually, when we are caught in the moment and overcome with emotion, a decision must be made. Do something or do nothing. Think back to your conversion, or other turning points in your life – were they preceded or envelopped by emotion? For most of us, I suspect the answer would be “Yes.” And, if you are anything like me, there are times when emotion has moved you to make poor decisions – decisions that have proved unproductive or anything but beneficial.

Does that mean we suppress emotion or condition ourselves to be emotionless? Not at all. It would simply mean that we put emotion in its proper perspective to execution. Is our moment of emotion driving us to action or simply giving us a warm and joyful/tearful moment?

Yes, there are negative emotions and those have different ramifications, to a point.  None the less, excitement and execution are partners that can often be at odds with one another. It is up to us to determine whether we are going to act, react, or simply sit in the moment.  I think in this case, I’m going to act.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

