Bible Reading Update

Back in July I had posted a piece about some folks who had done some incredible things when it comes to reading the Bible. That post got me thinking and challenged me with regard to my own Bible reading habits. So I set myself a goal to read the Bible through in three months.  It’s at that point – August thru October – and I thought I’d let you know where I’m at.

For a variety of reasons, I missed several days of reading. Laziness I imagine. Then I also trailed off on my enthusiasm and stopped doing weekends consistently. Needless to say, I am behind. I’ve managed, according to the pages numbering in the Bible I’m using, to get a little more than half way. So, hitting the six month goal, is certainly doable.

Here’s what I’ve learned. At times I am more intent on the pages read than the content of the pages. Of course, that happens to me even if I’m not trying to reach a certain goal. I’ve also learned that the arbitrary chapter and verse numbering is cumbersome at times and does not allow for a full flow of theme or content. We can thank Stephen Langton (1227) and Robert Stephanus (1551) for that little bit of confusion.

Most of all, I am learning there is little perceived value in this exercise. Of course, I can say “I’ve done it”, again, but what will that mean to anyone. I could have “done it” a hundred times, but if I am not a keeper of Justice and doer of righteousness (Isaiah 56:1), what value is it?

Now having said all that, let me say that I do not intend to abandon the exercise even if it takes me a year. It will have value, if for nothing else than for me to say, “I’ve completed the exercise.”  I don’t complete a lot of things I start. It’s not that I don’t want to, it’s simply that something else comes along to draw my attention and I begin chasing that particular “idea.”  Even though that is not a bad trait in and of itself, it can be frustrating.

One other note, I’ve started reading The Blue Parakeet – Rethinking How You Read the Bible, by Scot McKnight. It is indeed an interesting read. The book has already given me a bit of insight in to how I read the Bible and what type of things I expect, or choose, to take away from the reading.

Well, there ya have it. My update. Ain’t life grand!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

