A Little Laughter

jesus-and-little-child1

I don’t know if you’ve seen any of these drawings before, but when my sister sent them to me (the above drawing is just one of many) I was taken back by the wonderful thought of Jesus laughing.  Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever given much thought to his pleasurable side. I suspect I’ve known he was warm and caring. Perhaps at times dumbfounded by some of his disciples remarks or actions. But I’ve never given thought to times of laughter and joy he might have enjoyed.  Furthermore, I don’t know that I’ve ever heard a sermon or read a book that would deliver such an image of my savior.

The gospel writers don’t give us much of a picture of the “lighter” side of Christ. Perhaps they were too busy getting what they had heard or seen down on paper and gave little thought to those special moments when life was just a “walk in the park”.  It’s true the synoptic writers tell us of Jesus letting the little children come to him; his laying hands on them and blessing them. But that’s about it.

I rather like the image portrayed in the drawings and am thankful for the chance to experience them. I’m not sure who the Jesus Painter is, but I’d like to meet him. I’ll bet his heart is definitely in the right place.  There is a web site for The Jesus Painter, but it does not contain any of the drawings I’ve seen. So I’m not certain it’s the same person.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

