The Sack Lunch

I  want to get back to the concept of “evil” and God, but right now, I’d like to share a couple thoughts and an email from a friend.

As a country, I don’t believe we do enough for those who sacrifice so much to defend our freedoms. Mostly, when I think of freedom fighters, I think of the military personnel. But there are more….our local police force, our firemen, those who serve in special functions such as SWAT teams or bomb squads.  They all put their lives on the line every day to defend our basic and fundamental rights to “life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.”  So if the story below inspires you…take action. Pick up a lunch check if your in a restaraunt with special heroes, stop them on the street or in the store and say “thank you” or demonstrate your appreciation in some other way. I do.

Now, here is the story.

The  Sack Lunches

I put my carry-on in the luggage  compartment and sat down in my 
assigned seat.  It was  going to be a long flight. ‘I’m glad I have a 
good book to  read Perhaps I will get a short nap,’ I  thought.

Just before take-off, a line of  soldiers came down the aisle and 
filled all the vacant seats,  totally surrounding me.  I decided to 
start a  conversation..  ‘Where are you headed?’ I asked the soldier  
seated nearest to me.

‘Petawawa.  We’ll be there for two weeks for special training, and then  
we’re being deployed to Afghanistan

After  flying for about an hour, an announcement was made that sack  
lunches were available for five dollars.  It would be  several hours 
before we reached the east, and I quickly  decided a lunch would help 
pass the  time..

As I reached for my wallet, I overheard  soldier ask his buddy if he 
planned to buy lunch.  ‘No,  that seems like a lot of money for just a 
sack lunch. Probably  wouldn’t be worth five bucks.  I’ll wait till we 
get to  base ‘

His friend  agreed.

I looked around at the other soldiers.   None were buying lunch.  I 
walked to the back of  the plane and handed the flight attendant a 
fifty dollar bill.   ‘Take a lunch to all those soldiers.’  She grabbed  
my arms and squeezed tightly.  Her eyes wet with tears,  she thanked 
me.  ‘My son was a soldier in   Iraq  ; it’s almost like you are doing it  
for
him.’

Picking up ten sacks,  she headed up the aisle to where the soldiers 
were seated.   She stopped at my seat and asked, ‘Which do you like  
best – beef or chicken?’

‘Chicken,’ I  replied, wondering why she asked.  She turned and went to  
the front of plane, returning a minute later with a dinner  plate from 
first class.  ‘This is your  thanks.’

After we finished eating, I went again  to the back of the plane, 
heading for the rest room.  A  man stopped me..  ‘I saw what you did.  I 
want to be  part of it.  Here, take this.’  He handed me twenty-five  
dollars.

Soon after I returned to my  seat, I saw the Flight Captain coming down 
the aisle, looking  at the aisle numbers as he walked, I hoped he was 


not looking  for me, but noticed he was looking at the numbers only on  
my side of the plane.  When he got to my row he stopped,  smiled, held 
out his hand, an said, ‘I want to shake your  hand.’

Quickly unfastening my seatbelt I stood  and took the Captain’s hand.  
With a booming voice he  said, ‘I was a soldier and I was a military 
pilot. Once,  someone bought me a lunch.  It was an act of kindness I  
never forgot.’  I was embarrassed when applause was heard  from all of 
the passengers.

Later I  walked to the front of the plane so I could stretch my legs.   
A man who was seated about six rows in front of me  reached out his 
hand, wanting to shake mine.  He left  another twenty-five dollars in 
my  palm.

When we landed  I gathered my  belongings and started to deplane.  
Waiting just inside  the airplane door was a man who stopped me, put 
something  in my shirt pocket, turned, and walked away without saying a  
word.  Another twenty-five  dollars!

Upon entering the terminal, I saw the  soldiers gathering for their 
trip to the base.  I walked  over to them and handed them seventy-five 
dollars. ‘It will  take you some time to reach the base. It will be 
about time  for a sandwich.  God Bless You.’

Ten young  men left that flight feeling the love and respect of their  
fellow travelers.  As I walked briskly to my car, I  whispered a prayer 
for their safe return.  These soldiers  were giving their all for our 
country.  I could only give  them a couple of meals.

It seemed so  little…

A veteran is someone who, at one  point in his life, wrote a blank check


made payable to ‘The   United  States of America ‘ for  an amount of  ‘up 
to and including my life.’

That is Honor, and there are  way too many people in this country who 
no longer understand  it.’  

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Sack Lunch

  1. Amen Norm. That was a great gesture and a nice thing to do. Uplifting story. A good tribute.

    Like

Leave a Reply

