Where is God?

As a college student,  I sat in the Library at Wayland Baptist University one evening and ran across these words written on the inside cover of the book I was reading.

“Dear God, would you please be my own dearest friend.”  (Signed) A very lonely girl.

For months I wondered who that girl might be. I quoted her in a majority of my talks. I prayed for her.  Even today I think of her and wonder how she’s doing. My imagination sees her as a successful professional with a nice family fully involved in her church and ultimately happy. My mind’s eye also see’s her recording those words one lonely night in the front pages of her Bible. The same way I wrote them in mine over thirty years ago.

I’m not certain how other people feel, but I often feel lonely. Even though I’m not alone, I still feel lonely. Much of this I attribute to the many struggles  in my mind with who I am, where I am, what I am in relationship to God and others.  That feeling has brought me both revelation and depression. It has pushed me to do more and to the edge of the envelope. It has brought understanding and overwhelming confusion. And even though I’m up in years, those feelings continue to present themselves at the most awkward moments.  With a certain level of maturity to put legs to the stool, I have learned to embrace the feelings noted above.  I’ve progressed from seeing them through the eyes of “doubt” and now view them with the heart of a pilgrim.

What you’ll hear below is several minutes of reflection depicting not only those of a lonely University student back in the 70’s but also contemporary feelings of a current student.  If Nathan Chud’s words don’t resonate with you at some level, than I suggest you take the temperature of your faith.

 

http://player.vimeo.com/video/17352423<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/17352423″>I’m a Uni Student…</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user3855499″>Campus America</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

Leave a comment

Filed under Change, Depression, Devotion, Faith, God, Relationships

Leave a Reply

