Relationships

We’ve all had the experience. We’re sitting in an interview and the interviewer says, “Tell me about yourself.”

The last time I had that experience here’s what I said.

“I’m a pretty terrific husband – at least according to my wife. I’m a fairly decent long distance dad, but wish I could do better. As a grandparent, I try my best to let my grand-kids know I love them and think of them all everyday.  I enjoy spending time with my wife since she’s my best friend and I like fiddlin’ around with my car. We enjoy our neighbors and I think I’m the kind of guy that would be there in a heartbeat if any of them needed anything.   Other than that, I’m a pretty average guy.”

You should have seen his jaw drop. He didn’t know what to say.  He did, however, offer me the job, which I chose to turn down. But that’s a different story.

I’m not a psychologist or a relationship expert but I’ve been to enough rodeos to know there’s nothing easy about building a good marriage or being a good parent. In a real sense, when too many people define themselves by their job – perhaps we should be defining ourselves by our relationships.

Jesus picked twelve men to pour himself into. For the most part he spent every waking hour with those twelve. Not always alone with them, but always with them. The only time we really see them apart is when he sends them out to the “lost house of Israel.”

The value of that kind of personal investment reaped some pretty high dividends.  Sure they were scared on ocassion, asked what seemed to be dumb questions at times, and even hightailed it out of Dodge when things got to be too much. But when it was all said and done – the investment Jesus made in those twelve was monumental.

I often wish it was similar today. Yes, I know that on the spiritual plane we “walk” and “talk” with him. But it’s not quite the same has having his presence. The kind the disciples had: Hearing each others laughter, tellling stories at dinner, having a pat on the back or a reassuring touch on the knee.

I’m sure there are those out there who claim that kind of presence and interaction with the Christ, but they’re in another world from the one I live in.  Perhaps that makes them more spiritual than me but that too is for another time.

My relationship with Jesus, although over 40 years in the making, is not what I’d like it to be. Then again, I’m not sure I could define what I’d like it to be. It’s much different than my wife’s and certainly much different than some of my friends. But that’s all it is – different. Not better or worse except from how I perceive it. The good thing is, like a strong marriage or good friendship, I’m working on it.

Perhaps one day Jesus will ask me, “Tell me about yourself.”  And I can say, “I’m a pretty terrific husband – at least according to my wife. I’m a fairly decent long distance dad, but wish I could do better. As a grandparent, I try my best to let my grandkids know I love them and think of them all everyday.  I enjoy spending time with my wife since she’s my best friend and I like fiddlin’ around with my car. We enjoy our neighbors and I think I’m the kind of guy that would be there in a heartbeat if any of them needed anything.   Other than that, I’m a pretty average guy.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Relationships

  1. “Well done thou good and faithful servant.” That will be His reply to you. Now I don’t profess to speak for God, but I think I know Him good enough to know that that is what he’d say. Good post Norm. I enjoyed it brother.

    Like

Leave a Reply

