Technological Nightmare

Sometimes you just need to ask the question, “What am I supposed to be learning from all of this?”

Over the past several days I’ve been going through a technological nightmare. I recently purchased a new computer and the troubles began. In the past seven days I’ve probably spent eight hours on the phone, in live chat, or in some other form of communication with technical support from the manufacturer. I’ve logged an hour with Microsoft techs and another hour with Internet providers and router folks.  Every time it seemed I was making progress something else went wrong!  Finally, with no little joy, I took the laptop back to the store where I bought it.

But again, I asked myself, “What am I supposed to be learning from all of this?”  Is it that I am too dependent on technology? Could it be I spend too much time interacting with technology?  Might the issue be a lack of priorities when it comes to the Internet, my writing, research, and emails?

Don’t get me wrong. I’m open to learning new things but this whole mess is driving me to the brink. I am suddenly aware of how much all of this seems to dictate my day.  Heck even much of my reading is on an electronic device.

What if Paul was writing an email to the Corinthians and his internet connection kept getting dropped?  What if James was in the middle of a hot topic only to find his computer freeze and he’s done for the day? How would Luke react to not having his favorite word processing program as he pounded out the tantalizing history of the early church?  I mean, really!  Where would we all be? What would we do?

There is no reservation in my voice when I confess to enjoying the benefits technology brings to my everyday life. If it weren’t for technology, unless someone was taking my notes, there would be no writing. If it weren’t for technology, many tasks would take much longer to complete. If it weren’t for technology, the world would be a much “slower” place.

As it stands now, I’m pretty frustrated. So far, eleven days of my life have been tethered to this technological nightmare. When it’s done, I’m sure I’ll not only enjoy, but reap the benefit of this new laptop and its enhanced features.  Until then….I’m going to keep asking myself, “What am I supposed to be learning here?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

