Praise and Purpose

When new followers join this blog, I’m usually enticed to take a look at their blog in order to get a sense of who’s tagging along with me. Recently I stepped over to the Minstrel’s wife blog and read a piece she had posted on praise. When I read her wonderful testimony of praise, I started thinking about how different individual Christ-followers can be and how Christ-followers express their faith differently.

What the Minstrel’s wife posted is not a genre which necessarily reflects my particular passion for Christ. Yes, there are times of worship, study and prayer when my emotions and the joy of being loved by the Master take over. But that’s rare, although enjoyed when it happens. Her echo of a deep-seated passion for Christ is not one I often hear in the neighborhood where I reside. And that’s okay.

It doesn’t mean my passion for Christ is less, it just means it’s expressed differently. When was the last time you read about Matthew jumping in the sea and walking on water, or Luke on a mountain top begging to start a building project? Making it a bit more personal, you might see me on the steps of the Areopagus but find me a bit wrinkled if I had to justify my ministry to a group of brothers. Bottom line, we’re not all sons of thunder or out looking for sycamore trees.

It’s our differences that build the body of Christ. It’s our variety that enhances our corporate worship. It’s the melding of you and me and countless others that reflects the very image of God.

Yes, we’re all broken icons. Yet, each part of the body—fingers and toes, ears and eyes, arms and legs—has a function. Each part is a reflection of what the whole is meant to be. If we forget that, then I suggest we are indeed simply clanging cymbals and out-of-tune trumpets. If we all held hands the only progress we would make is that of going in circles. It’s imperative that we be able to reflect our individuality in order to chase those butterflies, explore those flower-drenched valleys, and browse among the tomes of great thinkers.

The reality is, you might never wear a pair of cowboy boots and I’ll probably never wear flip-flops. That doesn’t mean we can’t walk the same pilgrim’s path in following the Messiah. As much as I might find it odd, it’s imperative that I let you be you and hopefully find myself granted the same privilege. That doesn’t mean either is free to do whatever. It simply means we’re free to express God’s love and our love for God in ways that we both hope will glorify him.

Leave a comment

Filed under Discipleship

Leave a Reply

